Book Review: Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson

“I don’t feel like suffering from this temptation alone, so I’m going to tell you about the e-mail I just received,” my husband told me as I was brushing my teeth one Sunday morning in June.  “The Sci-Fi Book Club just announced a ‘flash sale’ from now until 8 p.m.–buy one book at 50% off publisher’s price and get a second book free with free shipping on both books.”  Long story short: I got Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson so that Steven could get A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin.  (And if you believe my implication that this was an altruistic sacrifice on my part, I’d like to sell you my oceanfront property in Arizona.)  I am thrilled that I gave in to this particular temptation!

I can now see why Sanderson was tapped to finish Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time saga (and it’s made me more interested in finishing that series).  Sanderson’s world building and the sense of history in which the story is rooted are reminiscent of The Eye of the World, yet the world of Hallandren and Idris remains uniquely his own. I was impressed with Sanderson’s ability to create the fascinating concept of BioChromatic magic and then so thoroughly extrapolate how this would shape society and culture.  I was also impressed with the way he portrayed religion in this book, creating three different religions and playing fairly with each one.  But he is not only a great architect; Sanderson also an excellent sculptor of characters. In truth, it’s difficult for me to pick just one “favorite” character since so many were interesting and effectively used in the story.  I really loved them all–even the villains!

My Synopsis: In a world where Awakeners can tap the power of human essence, called breath, and combine it with color drained from everyday objects to create small wonders and unnatural terrors, the fragile truce between the kingdoms of Idris and Hallandren is rapidly unraveling.  Warbreaker is the story of two Idrian princesses, Vivenna and Siri, whose lives are turned upside down when Siri is thrust into the role Vivenna had been destined to play.  It’s the story of Lightsong the Bold, a Returned god who doubts his divinity, troubled by violent dreams and the politics of his pantheon.  And it’s the riddle of who the stranger with the sentient sword is and what role he intends to play.

First line: “It’s funny,” Vasher thought, “how many things begin with my getting thrown into prison.”

I would recommend this book to: Anyone who enjoys getting lost in another world.  Anyone who doesn’t want to read half a dozen novels to find out how the story ends.  Anyone who prefers stories without explicit content.

Would I read it again: Yes!

My personal rating: 5 out of 5

About ChainThree

I am a daughter, sister, wife and aunt who has always loved a good yarn.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson

  1. Lauren says:

    My husband is a die-hard Wheel of Time fan and he says Sanderson did an excellent job. I wasn’t able to get into the series, but this sounds like something I would enjoy. I am adding it to my list of books to buy 🙂

Leave a Reply

