CADD (Crochet Attention Deficit Disorder)

For a couple years, I had been doing very good about only having one WIP (Work In Progress) at a time, mainly because I had promised my family I would crochet each one a Christmas stocking. As I have many sisters, brothers-in-law, nieces and a nephew, it was imperative that I stick to this rule in order to complete the project before relatives began slipping off to heaven where they would have no need of my stockings for their Christmas celebrations.  (If you think I am exaggerating, you have no idea of my staggering ability to procrastinate!)

And as I said, I had been (mostly) sticking to the rule, until we moved into a new house with hardwood floors last fall.  I loved not vacuuming, but my feet were not to pleased about the sensation of these non-padded surfaces in the middle of a long, cold winter.  Thus, when I saw a darling rug patten by a display of new yarn at the shop, I succumbed to the temptation.  Looking at the pattern I guessed it would take me a about 6-8 weeks to finish a pair for the bedroom.  I had guessed right (give or take a week), but when I came to the last round on the first rug (before attaching the fringe), I laid the the rug on the floor by the bed and discovered to my dismay that it looked like a doily on a basketball court!  Soooo…I began expanding the pattern, carefully making notes as I went along (remember, I have to make a duplicate for the other side of the bed), and I think after another 3 rounds it will be serviceable.  Maybe.  We’ll see when it looks like on the floor at that point.

In the meantime, six year-old niece saw my coin purse one day, asked if I had made it and said it was pretty.  Indeed I had made it from a Crochet Spot pattern, and I got to thinking that her birthday was coming up and maybe she would like her own coin purse as a present.  But what else could I make to go with it?  Lo and behold, there appeared in my inbox a  pattern for a Preppy Kerchief–super cute!  So I am now making that.

But that’s it!  No more projects started until the birthday presents, the rugs and the stockings are completed!  At least that’s the mantra I keep chanting whenever I look longingly at the lovely patterns that appear in my inbox every week.

About ChainThree

I am a daughter, sister, wife and aunt who has always loved a good yarn.
This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

